The Kansas State High School Activities Association (KSHSAA) released district assignments for the 2014 and 2015 seasons on Wednesday. One suburban Kansas City high school moves out from Class 5A, District 4 and another moves in — Blue Valley will be replaced by St. Thomas Aquinas and Pittsburg will face Aquinas, Blue Valley Southwest and Blue Valley West. The Purple Dragons have been in District 4 the past two seasons with Blue Valley, Blue Valley Southwest (which moved up from Class 4A) and Blue Valley West. Pittsburg begins district play this season next week against Blue Valley West. The Purple Dragons last made the playoffs in 2007 (playing in 4A) and 2005 in 5A. St. Mary's Colgan will play Erie, Humboldt and Northeast in 3A, District 6 — one school, soon to be two schools (Northeast, Erie) formerly of the Crawford-Neosho-Cherokee League and Humboldt played in the same 2-1A district with Colgan a couple years ago. Last season, Colgan defeated Humboldt 63-28 in a memorable Saturday night 3A playoff game at Hutchinson Field. That was the game where the Panthers and the Cubs combined for over 1,000 yards of total offense and 13 TDs, as well as 13 successful extra points, four TDs longer than 50 yards, nine interceptions and 20 penalties for over 200 yards of losses. Northeast returns to 3A after playing two years in 2-1A. The Vikings opened 2-1A, District 4 play last Friday with a 39-6 win over Jayhawk-Linn. CNC schools Southeast, Riverton and Galena have been playing together in 3A, District 8 the past two seasons and now will play each other in District 8 for at least two more seasons. Colgan moves out and Cherryvale moves in. CNC schools Baxter Springs, Columbus, Frontenac and Girard, as well as Southeast Kansas League school Parsons, begin play in 4A Division II next season. Girard heads north and Frontenac stays more south. District 3 pairs Girard with Anderson County, Burlington and Iola. District 4 groups three CNCs and one SEK — Baxter Springs, Columbus, Frontenac and Parsons. The rest of the SEK League schools — other than 5A Pittsburg — play in 4A Div. I with Chanute, Fort Scott and Labette County making up District 4 along with traditional Frontier League power Paola and Montgomery County-SEK League rivals Coffeyville and Independence follow the Horace Greeley model and complete District 5 with Augusta and Winfield. KSHSAA FOOTBALL DISTRICT ASSIGNMENTS (2014, 2015 seasons) CLASS 6A District 1 — KC Harmon, KC Wyandotte, Shawnee Mission East, Shawnee Mission North District 2 — Blue Valley North, Shawnee Mission NW, Shawnee Mission South, Shawnee Mission West District 3 — Blue Valley, Blue Valley Northwest, Gardner-Edgerton, Olathe South District 4 — Lawrence, Olathe East, Olathe North, Olathe South District 5 — Lawrence Free State, Manhattan, Topeka, Washburn Rural District 6 — Junction City, Wichita East, Wichita North, Wichita Southeast District 7 — Campus, Derby, Wichita South, Wichita West District 8 — Dodge City, Garden City, Hutchinson, Wichita Northwest CLASS 5A District 1 — KC Schlagle, KC Washington, Lansing, Leavenworth District 2 — Shawnee Heights, Topeka Highland Park, Topeka Seaman, Topeka West District 3 — Bonner Springs, KC Turner, Mill Valley, St. James Academy District 4 — Blue Valley Southwest, Blue Valley West, Pittsburg, St. Thomas Aquinas District 5 — Andover, Emporia, Kapaun Mount Carmel, Wichita Heights District 6 — Great Bend, Newton, Salina Central, Salina South District 7 — Bishop Carroll, Maize, Maize South, Valley Center District 8 — Arkansas City, Goddard, Goddard-Eisenhower, Liberal CLASS 4A — DIV. I District 1 — Atchison, Basehor-Linwood, KC Piper, Tonganoxie District 2 — Bishop Miege, KC Sumner, Louisburg, Spring Hill District 3 — Baldwin, De Soto, Eudora, Ottawa District 4 — Chanute, Fort Scott, Labette County, Paola District 5 — Augusta, Coffeyville, Independence, Winfield District 6 — Andover Central, Circle, El Dorado, Topeka Hayden District 7 — Mulvane, Rose Hill, Ulysses, Wellington District 8 — Abilene, Buhler, Hays, McPherson CLASS 4A — DIV. II District 1 — Holton, Jefferson West, Perry-Lecompton, Royal Valley District 2 — KC Bishop Ward, Osawatomie, Prairie View, Santa Fe Trail District 3 — Anderson County, Burlington, Girard, Iola District 4 — Baxter Springs, Columbus, Frontenac, Parsons District 5 — Andale, Clearwater, Haven, Trinity Academy District 6 — Chapman, Nickerson, Smoky Valley, Wamego District 7 — Clay Center, Colby, Concordia, Goodland District 8 — Holcomb, Hugoton, Larned, Pratt CLASS 3A District 1 — Hiawatha, Horton, Sabetha, Wathena-Riverside District 2 — Centralia/Wetmore, Nemaha Central, Rock Creek, St. Marys District 3 — Atchison County, Maur Hill Mount Academy, McLouth, Pleasant Ridge District 4 — Osage City, Oskaloosa, Rossville, Silver Lake District 5 — Central Heights, Jayhawk-Linn, Wellsville, West Franklin District 6 — Colgan, Erie, Humboldt, Northeast District 7 — Caney Valley, Eureka, Fredonia, Neodesha District 8 — Cherryvale, Galena, Riverton, Southeast District 9 — Belle Plaine, Cheney, Conway Springs, Harper-Chaparral District 10 — Bluestem, Collegiate, Douglass, Wichita Independent District 11 — Garden Plain, Halstead, Hutchinson Trinity, Kingman District 12 — Council Grove, Hesston, Hillsboro, SE of Saline District 13 — Marysville, Minneapolis, Riley County, Washington County District 14 — Beloit, Norton, Russell, Thomas More Prep District 15 — Ellsworth, Hoisington, Lyons, Sterling District 16 — Cimarron, Lakin, Scott City, Southwestern Heights CLASS 2-1A District 1 — Doniphan West, Immaculata, Jefferson County North, Maranatha Academy, Troy District 2 — Jackson Heights, Onaga, Valley Falls, Valley Heights, Wabaunsee District 3 — Chase County, Herington, Marion, Mission Valley, Northern Heights District 4 — Lyndon, Olpe, Oswego, Whitewater-Remington, Yates Center District 5 — Inman, Medicine Lodge, Moundridge, Sacred Heart, Sedgwick District 6 — Bennington, Ell-Saline, Phillipsburg, Republic County, Smith Center District 7 — Ellis, LaCrosse, Oakley, Plainville, Wichita County District 8 — Elkhart, Meade, Stanton County, Sublette, Syracuse 8-MAN, DIV. I District 1 — Marais des Cygnes Valley, Marmaton Valley, Pleasanton, St. Paul, Uniontown, Waverly District 2 — Burden-Central, CedarVale/Dexter, Oxford, Sedan, Udall, West Elk District 3 — Burlingame, Flint Hills, Lebo, Madison/Hamilton, Peabody-Burns, Rural Vista District 4 — Clifton-Clyde, Downs-Lakeside, Hanover, Lincoln, Osborne, Rock Hills, Wakefield District 5 — Canton-Galva, Central Plains, Ellinwood, Goessel, Little River, Solomon District 6 — Kinsley, Kiowa County, Macksville, Pratt-Skyline, South Central, St. John-Hudson District 7 — Dighton/Healy, Hodgeman County, Ness City, South Gray, Spearville, Wakeeney-Trego District 8 — Decatur, Hill City, Logan/Palco, Quinter, Rawlins County, St. Francis, Stockton 8-MAN DIV. II District 1 — Axtell, Blue Valley-Randolph, Frankfort, Glasco/Miltonvale, Linn, Pike Valley District 2 — Burrton, Chase, Lost Springs-Centre, Sylvan Unified, Tescott, Wilson District 3 — Altoona-Midway, Chetopa, Crest, Elk Valley, Hartford, Southern Coffey County District 4 — Attica/Argonia, Caldwell, Norwich, Pretty Prairie, South Barber, South Haven District 5 — Ashland, Bucklin, Cunningham, Fairfield, Minneola, Stafford District 6 — Deerfield, Fowler, Ingalls, Moscow, Rolla, Satanta District 7 — Natoma, Northern Valley, Otis-Bison, St. John's Tipton, Thunder Ridge, Victoria District 8 — Cheylin, Golden Plains, Greeley County, Hoxie, Triplains/Brewster, Wallace County, Wheatland/Grinnell