DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Girard native and Brevard County Manatees reliever Tanner Poppe earned a save Friday night against the Daytona Cubs in his 2014 season debut at Jackie Robinson Ballpark.

Brevard County, a Class A advanced affiliate of the Milwaukee Brewers, defeated Daytona 4-3 in 10 innings, scoring the go-ahead run on a Garrett Cooper single.

In the bottom of the 10th, Brevard County called on Poppe, in relief of Michael Strong.

Bijan Rademacher greeted Poppe with a line drive single to right.

The Manatees gained two outs during Marco Hernandez's at-bat.

No. 1, Rademacher was caught stealing by Brevard County catcher Cameron Garfield. No. 2, Poppe struck out Hernandez.

With two outs, Daytona managed back-to-back singles.

Gioskar Amaya singled to left and Pin-Chieh Chen singled to right.

However, Poppe's glove and right arm contributed to the final out.

Albert Almora hit a comebacker to Poppe, who threw onto first baseman Cooper.

Game over.

Daytona defeated Brevard County 13-2 on Saturday and the teams close out their four-game home-and-home series Monday.

The Manatees then move on to a three-game mid-week series against Lakeland.


The winners of the Dylan Meier Get Busy Livin', Adam Newbery and Scotty Sisk memorial scholarships have been announced by Pittsburg High.

Pittsburg senior Riley Cunningham earned the Meier scholarship and Cunningham, the starting quarterback of the Purple Dragons just like Meier, participated in football and basketball all four years of high school and went out for track during his senior year. His teammates voted him a captain in both football and basketball his senior year.

Cunningham, the son of Philip and Diane Cunningham, Pittsburg, plans to attend Pittsburg State beginning in the fall with construction management a possible major.

The fourth annual Get Busy Livin' 5K fun run/walk will be held Apr. 26 at Hutchinson Field. The 5K begins at 9 a.m. For more information or to register, please visit

Pittsburg senior Ethan Paul-Davis has been awarded the Adam Newbery Memorial Scholarship.

Paul-Davis, a participant in football, wrestling and track during his time at PHS, earned All-Southeast Kansas League honors in football and track and his other football honors include being selected to represent Pittsburg in the 2014 Kansas Shrine Bowl, which will be played July 26 at Brandenburg Field/Carnie Smith Stadium. Paul-Davis joins a long line of previous Dragons in the Shrine Bowl.

A speedy, shutdown cornerback, Paul-Davis earned Class 5A All-State honors during his senior year.

Paul-Davis, the son of Sonia Davis, Pittsburg, plans to attend Hutchinson Community College in the fall, where he plans to play football, going from Purple to Blue Dragons.

Pittsburg senior Dylan Brizzee has been selected the recipient of the Scotty Sisk Memorial Scholarship.

The Scotty Sisk Award recognizes the senior football player every year who most exemplifies "the spirit of Dragon football." During his senior year, Brizzee was voted by his teammates the Most Inspirational Player.

Brizzee, a four-year football and three-year track participant who is the son of Cassady Brizzee, Pittsburg, plans to attend Neosho Community College next year.

John and Nancy Newbery provide the Adam Newbery Memorial Scholarship and Sharon and Danny Sisk provide the Scotty Sisk Memorial Scholarship.

GALENA — The Frontenac girls and the Riverton boys took first in the Bulldog Relays on Friday, an event originally slated for Thursday but pushed a day back due to early April weather.

Frontenac tallied 122 points, while Galena had 81, St. Paul 59, Neodesha 57 and Baxter Springs 47 to round out the top five teams.

Lauren Hipfl posted a double win in the shot put and the discus, recording first place marks of 31 feet, 7 inches in the shot and 99-7 in the discus. Allyn Murray made it a clean sweep of the throwing events for the Raiders, as her mark of 107-6 outdistanced the second place thrower by over 10 feet.

Brilee Rheums won the triple jump with a mark of 30-1, Hannah Stover won the 400-meter dash with a time of 1 minute, 6.77 seconds and Tabor Spurling won the 800 run in 2:37.64.

The Raiders won the 4x400 relay in 4:38.93 and the 4x800 in 11:08.03.

Northeast's Kaylee Bogina, defending state champion in the 3,200, won both the 1,600 and the 3,200 on Friday with respective times of 5:42.63 and 11:31.34.

She beat out a fellow state champion in St. Paul's Jenny O'Bryan, who ran a 5:42.63 (1,600) and 11:38.14 (3,200).

On the boys side, Northeast finished second behind Riverton, posting 76 points.

Noah Popejoy won the high jump with a mark of 5-10 and Drew Ashbacher won the 110 high hurdles in 18.20, beating out Riverton's Logan Edwards by 30 ticks.

Pittsburg State track signee J.T. Richardson took second in both the triple jump (40-0) and the 800 run (2:15.53), and fourth in the long jump (18-11).

Popejoy finished second in the shot put at 43-3 and fifth in the javelin at 126-9.

Michael Balk placed third in the pole vault at 9-6 and Seth Chandler ran a third in the 3,200 at 11:06.30 and sixth in the 1,600 in 5:15.66.

Madison Saxinger took fifth in the discus at 110-8, Antonio Slingluff fourth in the triple jump at 37-10, fifth in the long jump at 18-6 1/2 and fifth in the high jump at 5-8 and Kegan Willard fifth in the triple jump at 37-5 1/2.

Frontenac's Austin Seward finished second in the 100 in 11.72 and fifth in the 200 in 24.95. Chet Stover took fourth in the 400 in 56.05 and sixth in the 200 in 25.07. Louis Brunetti ran sixth in the 300 intermediate hurdles in 2:24.27. The 4x400 finished second in 46.37, fourth in the 4x400 in 4:10.82 and fifth in the 4x800 in 9:51.82. The Raiders totaled 35.5 points.

Team results, boys: Riverton 99, Northeast 76, Galena 66, College Heights 59, McAuley Catholic 59, Frontenac 35.5, Neodesha 28.5, Liberal 24, Oswego 24, Quapaw 23, Commerce 21, St. Paul 20, Baxter Springs 18, Wyandotte 1, Girard 0, Oklahoma Union 0.

Team results, girls: Frontenac 122, Galena 81, St. Paul 59, Neodesha 57, Baxter Springs 47, Riverton 38, Liberal 34, Commerce 22, Quapaw 22, College Heights 21, Northeast 20, Wyandotte 16, Oswego 4, McAuley Catholic 3, Girard 0, Oklahoma Union 0.