GIRARD — The race for mayor of McCune will come down to the wire Friday, when a coin is flipped to determine the winner.

McCune Mayoral Candidates Tosh Kluber and Rodney Lohff tied with 67 votes each, while Kimberly Meeks and Darvin Weaver tied for a seat on the Mulberry City Council. All four candidates have been notified by the Crawford County Clerk’s Office, and will convene Friday to determine the winners.

The candidates will meet at the commission’s regular meeting 10 a.m. Friday in Girard. A coin will be flipped to determine the winner in each tie.

The Crawford County Commission canvassed the ballots from the 2017 school district and city election Monday, revealing the winners of write in elections.

After counting write in votes, County Clerk Don Pyle found that Mickey Painter won the third open spot on the USD 250 Board of Education with 297 votes. Painter received the third most votes, following Amber Madl and B.J. Harris.

Greg Hite won the position of USD 247 Board of Education Position No. 5 with four write-in votes — two from Crawford County and two from Cherokee County.

Mark McCully was elected to the Frontenac City Council as the first ward council member with 12 write-in votes.

Doug Harris was elected mayor in Hepler with 10 write-in votes. Five Hepler City Council members were also elected by write-in — Jeff Tersinar, Claudia Ausemus, Ed Zilliox, Randy Winterbower and Janice Baker.

Gary Peterson won the third open position for Arcadia City Council with 31 write-in votes. Donald Bright and Donald Cooper were elected to the other two position.

Crawford County towns will also have new faces in the mayoral position. Linda Grilz defeated incumbent Jim Kennedy for the position of Frontenac mayor with 378 votes, while Mickey Pyle was elected as the new mayor of Girard with 223 votes.

Arma Mayor Rock Anderson was re-elected to his position with 130 votes. Arma Council Member Richard Kerley retained his seat with 92 votes, and Mary Lou Peace was newly elected to a council position with 140 votes.

Girard First Ward Council Member Sheldon DeLange was re-elected to his position with 35 votes, just beating Sandra Hallacy who received 33 votes. William R. Huston won the Girard council position for the city’s third ward. The seat was formerly held by Daniel Murray who has moved out of the city limits.

A complete list of official election results can be found at

— Chance Hoener is a staff writer for the Morning Sun. He can be emailed at or follow him on Twitter @ReporterChance.