Log in

Local student named Governor’s Scholar


TOPEKA, Kan. — At the invitation of Kansas Governor Laura Kelly, Jaxson Robinson of Girard High School was selected to attend the 40th Annual Governor’s Scholars Awards Program on May 7 in Topeka. The recognition ceremony honored the top academic one percent of Kansas high school seniors. Scholars were selected from accredited public and private schools in the state.

“These high school seniors have shown dedication in their studies and a commitment to learning,” said Governor Kelly. “They’ve earned this honor, and I want to congratulate them on this achievement. We also should recognize their families, teachers, and mentors for helping these outstanding students achieve their academic goals.”

This program is coordinated for the Governor by the Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force and is funded by donations from private sector businesses in Kansas. The Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force was formed 40 years ago to strengthen confidence in public education. 

The following organizations are members of the Task Force: American Association of University Women, Kansas State Board of Education, Kansas Association of School Boards, Kansas Congress of Parents and Teachers, Kansas State Department of Education, Kansas State High School Activities Association, Kansas National Education Association, Kansas League of Women Voters, and United School Administrators of Kansas.