Morning Sun
  • TROJAN TRIBUNE: New members initiated into National Honor Society

  • Twenty-nine new members were initiated into the Girard National Honor Society Chapter 12707 Thursday, Nov. 29, at 6:30 p.m. in the GHS cafeteria.

    • email print
  • Twenty-nine new members were initiated into the Girard National Honor Society Chapter 12707 Thursday, Nov. 29, at 6:30 p.m. in the GHS cafeteria.
    In order to be selected for NHS, students submitted an application and met criteria in the areas of character, scholarship, leadership and service.
    Sponsor Steve Taylor and a committee of faculty members evaluated each applicant, and the final selection was based on the total number of points each student received.
    Vice President Anissa Zagonel began the ceremony by leading the new members to their seats. President Madison Smith welcomed guests and students to the event, and then Chaplain McKenzie Vulgamore gave an opening prayer.
    GHS Interim Principal Todd Ferguson addressed all NHS members, saying, “This is the highest academic award students can receive. It is a symbol of their commitment, academic prowess and overall character. Students and parents should be proud of this accomplishment.”
    After this, Secretary Kenzie Curran called roll of the new members and stated two activities each member participates in.
    Following roll call, Stephanie Moutz, Haley DeGarmo, Lauren Davied and Katelin White explained the four stations represented on the NHS shield: character, scholarship, leadership and service.
    New members then stood and recited the NHS pledge, were congratulated by returning members, received their pins, and were pinned by their parents.
    Chaplain McKenzie Vulgamore ended the ceremony with a closing prayer, and members served refreshments to their guests.
    New senior members include Molly Crager, Logan Franklin, Ashley Horton, James Spieth, Bryanna Whelan and Katlyn Williams.
    New junior members are Alex Battitori, Audrey Bauer, McKenna Belcher, Aaron Boore, Paxton Boore, Tristan Broce, Tanim Dillon, Tabitha Harris, Carly Heatherly, John Hey, Ryan Hisey, Alex Hughes, Hannah Jones, Rylee Karhoff, Timbrelee McNair, Haley Pitts, Christian Provence, Kendra Samuels, Bethany Schifferdecker, Sierra Schupbach, Alex Tippie, Natalie Weber and Sara Wiens.
    “I am proud of all the kids initiated and proud of all of the work they do for the school,” Mr. Taylor said.
    The 2012-2013 officers include Madison Smith, president; Anissa Zagonel, vice president; Kenzie Curran, secretary; Lauren Davied, treasurer; Haley DeGarmo, Student Council representative; and McKenzie Vulgamore, chaplain.
    Returning members are Derrick Amend, Aubri Ashbacher, Bethany Baker, Hayden Bauer, Carley Bradshaw, Austin Egbert, Taylor Evans, Nathan George, Nicholas George, Rylee Hamblin, Logan Hanson, Hadyn Herlocker, Delaney Hirst, Breanna Hyman, Chanel Jackson, Briston Kapler, Traci Lasco, Amanda Longpine, Kayla Morrison, Stephanie Moutz, Courtney Page, Austin Parker, Trinadie Puckett, Lenzie Vulgamore and Katelin White.

    Comments are currently unavailable on this article

      Events Calendar