Morning Sun
  • Girard leads all-CNC League football team

  • The Crawford-Neosho-Cherokee League released its selections for All-League football on Monday.

    • email print
  • The Crawford-Neosho-Cherokee League released its selections for All-League football on Monday.
    League champion Girard led with 12 selections: first team offensive linemen Jalen Merrell and Kevin Rowe, unanimous first team running back Anthony Scholes, unanimous first team defensive lineman Merrell, unanimous first team linebacker Nate George, second team offensive and defensive lineman Devin Vail, second team running back Taylor Lewis, second team linebacker Tyler Gray, second team defensive back Brayden Johnson, honorable mention offense Trenton Stolte and honorable mention defense Nick George.
    In the regular season, Scholes rushed for 1,412 yards and 20 touchdowns on 177 carries; he scored 23 TDs and 144 total points. Merrell recorded 47 tackles and 6.0 quarterback sacks. Nate George also recorded 47 tackles after nine games.
    Girard won all six CNC League games on its schedule and finished its season 9-2, highlighted by a nine-game winning streak. The Trojans blanked Southeast (42-0) and St. Mary’s Colgan (29-0) in consecutive weeks. Head coach Leon Miller received Coach of the Year.
    Colgan, the last CNC team eliminated from the state playoffs, landed offensive lineman Tieler Commons, running back Conner Dayton, linebacker V.J. Piccini and kicker-punter Aaron Twarog on the first team, defensive lineman David Misasi and defensive back Luke Marquardt on the second team, and quarterback Dyson Dechant, wide receiver Nate Grimaldi and defender C.J. Russell honorable mention for an even 10 selections.
    Dayton led the Colgan offense by rushing for well over 1,000 yards. The Panthers advanced past Neodesha (34-20) and Humboldt (63-28) en route to a quarterfinal loss to Rossville (17-7) in their first season playing 3A.
    Colgan tied a state team single-game record with eight interceptions against pass-delirious Humboldt. Colgan ended its season 8-4.
    Frontenac earned six selections, none first team: offensive lineman Kylor McCartney, defensive lineman Blake Barto, linebacker Brett Macary and defensive back Bryan Wade second team, quarterback Devon Keith and defensive lineman Cody Lindbloom honorable mention.
    During the regular season, Barto recorded 30 tackles, seven tackles for loss, 3.0 sacks, one forced fumbles, four fumble recoveries and two touchdowns, both on fumble recoveries. Macary had a team-high 60 tackles, one tackle for loss, one forced fumble, one interception and one pass breakup, not to mention his clutch touchdown reception in overtime against Colgan.
    Wade recorded 57 tackles, three interceptions, seven pass breakups and one forced fumble. Lindbloom had 53 tackles and 2.0 sacks. Stats do not include the playoff loss against Coffeyville. Frontenac ended its season 5-5.
    A much-improved Southeast earned a pair of unanimous first team selections:
    quarterback Josh Thompson and wide receiver Daniel Peak. Joining his fellow seniors on first team offense was lineman Justin Galloway and sure hands Peak doubled as first team defensive back.
    Ryan Rakestraw made second team receiver and running back Colton Charlton, offensive lineman Bryan Horgan, and sophomore defensive lineman Riley Ulery were dubbed honorable mention selections.
    Page 2 of 2 - Thompson passed for 1,503 yards and 17 TDs on 92-for-183 passing. A converted running back, dual-threat Thompson rushed for 563 yards and nine TDs on 116 carries. Peak caught nearly 50 passes for the 6-3 Lancers.
    State qualifier Galena (6-4 overall) earned seven selections: first team offensive lineman Jared Carver, unanimous first team defensive lineman Dusty Walton, first team linebacker Tyler VanCleave, first team defensive back Nick Sivert, second team running back Trenton Little, honorable mention offensive lineman Kyle Wilkins and honorable mention linebacker Jacob Helton.
    VanCleave made 73 tackles before his career ended on another knee injury. Sivert intercepted seven passes and returned them for a total of 114 yards.
    Trivia question: Who received Columbus’ first-ever All-CNC League first team selection in football? Answer: senior defensive lineman Gavin Houser. Houser made 87 tackles, 2.0 sacks, one interception and one fumble recovery.
    Columbus had another five selections: second team offensive lineman Lance King, second team receiver Jordan Morgan (26 catches, 492 yards, four TDs), second team linebacker Taylor Watkins (team-high 104 tackles), honorable mention quarterback Nate Bole (1,760 yards of total offense, 18 total TDs) and honorable mention Jace McDown (the freshman made 88 tackles).
    Columbus ended its season 4-6.

    Comments are currently unavailable on this article

      Events Calendar