Kansas law requires that all persons born after July 1, 1957 must complete an approved hunter education course before purchasing a license in Kansas.  Hunting seasons are now upon us.  Don’t disappoint family members by not having them prepared for the upcoming seasons.

Kansas law requires that all persons born after July 1, 1957 must complete an approved hunter education course before purchasing a license in Kansas.  Hunting seasons are now upon us.  Don’t disappoint family members by not having them prepared for the upcoming seasons.

Dates for the final fall class in Pittsburg are:  Oct. 7,9,11 (Tue/Thur/Sat) in Room 109 Grubbs Hall, PSU Campus. Weekday classes are from 6:00 to 9:30 pm.  The Saturday session is from 8:00 am until noon. One must attend all three sessions to become certified.

No one can be certified in hunter education until attaining 11 years of age.  Children under 11 are welcome to attend classes, but certification will not be awarded. Any youth 15 years of age or younger, whether a resident or non-resident, is allowed to hunt in Kansas without first being certified in an approved hunter education course, provided that the youth is hunting under the direct supervision of an adult 18 years of age or older.  Additionally, any youth who is 12 years of age or older, but less than 16 years of age, may hunt by themselves provided they have been certified through an approved hunter education course.

No pre-registration is necessary and there is no cost.  Books and study materials will be provided.  Parents are encouraged to attend.  All children under 12 years of age must be accompanied by an adult.

The hunter education classes are sponsored by the SEK Chapter of Quail Unlimited,   Pittsburg State University, and the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks.

Experienced volunteer instructors teach sessions covering subjects including basic firearms safety, wildlife management, wildlife in Kansas, the history of firearms, first aid, care of game, laws and regulations, and more.  The Saturday class includes a field course where participates are walked through hunting situations and actually get to shoot a bow, shotgun and rifle.

For more information contact the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks office at 620-231-3173.  All hunter education classes scheduled statewide and much more can be found on KDWP’s web page at www.kdwp.state.ks.us.