Morning Sun
  • State wrestling starts Friday

  • State wrestling begins on Friday and ends Saturday — Pittsburg and Frontenac, among other area schools, will be competing in the Class 4A tournament at the Salina Bicentennial Center.

    • email print
  • State wrestling begins on Friday and ends Saturday — Pittsburg and Frontenac, among other area schools, will be competing in the Class 4A tournament at the Salina Bicentennial Center.
    The Pittsburg contingent left for Salina late Wednesday morning in an effort to beat an impending winter storm.
    The Kansas State High School Activities Association posted the following message on its front page online: “Due to the current and expected weather conditions throughout the state, all state wrestling will be put on a 2 HOUR DELAY for Friday, February 22. Weigh-in will begin at 9 a.m. and first round competition will begin at 12 Noon. The second round will begin 15 minutes after the conclusion of the first round. This is for all state sites.”
    Levi Kester of Pittsburg (21-13) draws Bryce Ledford of Winfield (15-16) in the first round of the 106-pound bracket. Top wrestlers on the bottom half of the bracket include No. 2-ranked Josiah Seaton of Bonner Springs (31-2), No. 3 David Mainus of Colby (34-3) and No. 4 Trae Foreman of Pratt (28-4).
    Pittsburg senior Jeremiah Jones (33-6) draws Hunter Furnish of Andale (20-7) for his first match at 113.
    Jones, ranked No. 5 in his weight class by the Kansas Wrestling Coaches Association, has three potential ranked opponents in his draw — No. 2 Zane Baugh of Abilene (30-7), No. 3 Justus Seaton of Bonner Springs (28-5) and No. 6 Reno Hughey of El Dorado (26-7).
    Jones and Aaron Avelar of Goodland share the highest amount of wins in this bracket, 33.
    Pittsburg sophomore Joey Wools (15-13) faces Blake Cusick of Mulvane (29-8) at 120. His side of the bracket includes No. 2 Junior Morgan of Abilene (33-2) and No. 6 Tyler Sharp of Fort Scott (30-5).
    Pittsburg junior Brett Cobb (22-14) draws No. 3-ranked Jake Wilson of Rose Hill (30-4), not top-ranked Kyle Wilson of Wamego (31-1). Cobb’s side of the bracket includes four wrestlers with at least 30 wins — Jake Wilson, Tucker Clark of Baldwin (34-8), Kaleb Konitzer of Prairie View (30-2) and Seth Strauss of Abilene (37-6).
    Pittsburg senior Ivan Carrell (12-14) faces Bradley Campbell of Hugoton (17-7) in his first match. This side of the bracket includes No. 1 Julius Coates of Tonganoxie (32-4), No. 3 John Metcalf of Fort Scott (35-5) and No. 4 Skylar Hittle of Concordia (35-3).
    Pittsburg senior Gershom Avalos (31-6), the lone regional champion for the Purple Dragons and No. 2 at 220, faces Jeremy Slitor of DeSoto (10-4) in his opening match.
    Avalos sits at the top of the bottom half of the bracket, a draw which includes undefeated and top-ranked Justin Scott of Jefferson West (35-0), No. 5 Otto Orosco of Ulysses (27-7) and No. 6 Jon Yates of Buhler (30-9). None of the 16 wrestlers in this weight class possess a losing record.
    Frontenac senior Tanner Craig (35-8) faces No. 5 Drake Hake of Concordia (30-2) at 138. This side of the draw features No. 1 Bryce Shoemaker of Baldwin (41-2) and No. 6 Macen Shull of Colby (35-10).
    Page 2 of 2 - Southeast Kansas League champion and regional champion Chanute brings eight wrestlers to Salina: Nick Ornelas (113, 29-10), Adam Cole (126, 29-3), Chase Cole (132, 36-6), Jared Fiscus (145, 35-6), Ethin VanAnne (160, 13-22), Alex Son (170, 21-0), Cody Howell (195, 29-14) and Will Divine (285, 31-8), one of the largest stables of state-qualifying wrestlers.
    Seven of the eight have winning seasonal records, seven have at least 20 wins and three have at least 30 wins.
    Fort Scott travels with six wrestlers: Cole Stewart (113, 26-15), Tyler Sharp (120, 30-5), Jerad Heckman (126, 33-12), Victor Hughes (138, 40-6), Jacob Durossette (145, 26-2) and John Metcalf (195, 35-5).
    Columbus qualified five wrestlers: Derek Creel (120, 14-18), Taylor Watkins (152, 32-5), Zack Roark (160, 17-7), Jace McDown (170, 26-12) and Gavin Houser (195, 28-9).
    Labette County qualified three (Lane Rosenberg, Jared Hawks and Dakota Lewis), Coffeyville four (Keegan Deenihan, Derek Frost, Trey Thompson and Cory Turner), Independence one (Jordan Mead) and Parsons one (Andrew Fix).
    Live results, brackets, et cetera, can be found at trackwrestling.com.
    NOTE: Due to an early deadline because of the possibility of a winter storm, coverage of the Pittsburg State-Emporia State basketball games and the release of the high school basketball substate pairings will not be in today’s edition of the Morning Sun.

    Comments are currently unavailable on this article

      Events Calendar