Morning Sun
  • All-CNC hoops teams released

  • Crawford-Neosho-Cherokee League champions or co-champions Frontenac (girls) and Riverton (boys) each were honored with four All-League selections.

    • email print
  • Crawford-Neosho-Cherokee League champions or co-champions Frontenac (girls) and Riverton (boys) each were honored with four All-League selections.
    Girard senior guard Hadyn Herlocker and Baxter Springs senior guard Nina Spence were unanimous selections on the girls side and Coach of the Year nods went to coaches from Cherokee County: Zach Martin of Riverton (boys) and Kris Crotts of Baxter Springs (girls).
    Baxter Springs and Frontenac shared the girls title, both ending with 6-1 runs through league play as Baxter Springs lost to Frontenac and Frontenac lost to Columbus. Riverton won the boys title in the final game of the regular season, defeating Colgan and claiming the title outright with the help of Girard against Frontenac; Colgan, Frontenac and Galena all finished 5-2 in CNC play.
    Frontenac received two first-team selections in juniors Ryleigh McCartney and Bailey Flora, a second-team selection in junior Haley Wilson and a honorable mention in senior Libby Warrick.
    The versatile McCartney averaged 8.6 points and led the Raiders in rebounding (6.0 per game) and blocked shots (0.8). Against Class 4A state qualifier Labette County, McCartney had 19 points, 10 rebounds, five blocked shots, two assists and two steals in a 67-50 win.
    Flora led the Raiders with 11.1 points per game and ranked second in rebounding with 5.9, not far behind McCartney.
    Wilson was the most reliable shooter for the Raiders: her 45 3-point shots were 34 more than the next highest total and her 15-for-16 performance at the free throw line helped Frontenac advance past Girard into the 4A substate finals. Wilson averaged 10.1 points.
    Warrick finished with averages of 6.2 points, 3.8 rebounds and 1.0 steals.
    Herlocker averaged 21.4 points, 7.3 rebounds, 5.0 assists and 5.0 steals her senior year, facing double and triple teams every night.
    Spence averaged 17.0 points, 5.7 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 3.4 steals, sparking Baxter Springs to a share of the league title her senior season. Spence scored in double figures all 20 games.
    Abby Shelton of Galena received the other first team selection.
    Colgan seniors Mariah Klenke and Nichole Kolarik earned second team and honorable mention nods, respectively.
    Southeast junior Amy Martin and senior Tessa Robin represented the Lancers on the second team and honorable mention, respectively.
    Girard ace defender Hope McLeod made honorable mention.
    Baxter Springs also had junior Aleigh Grimes second team and junior Caitlin Roberts honorable mention.
    On the boys side, Dyson Dechant of Colgan, Devin Alters of Girard and Blake Barto of Frontenac joined Deven Newman of Galena and Landon North of Riverton on the All-CNC first team.
    Dechant averaged 18.5 points, 8.0 rebounds, 1.2 assists and 1.3 steals for the lone CNC state qualifier. Colgan made its 12th consecutive state tournament appearance, second in Class 3A.
    Alters averaged 15.5 points and 2.9 3-point shots per game for the Trojans and his last seven games of the season defined shooting tear: 19 points and four 3s against Baxter Springs, 14 and four against Columbus, 20 and four against Oswego, 27 and six against Southeast, 28 and six against Frontenac, 22 and six against Prairie View and 24 and six against Anderson County.
    Page 2 of 2 - Barto averaged 8.9 points, 7.1 rebounds, 2.5 assists and 1.7 steals for the Raiders.
    Colgan senior point guard V.J. Piccini earned honorable mention.
    Piccini, the proverbial floor general who played within his role and helped others do better, averaged 1.5 points but led the Panthers with 3.7 assists per game, finishing the year with a 2.3:1 assist-to-turnover ratio.
    Frontenac seniors Avery Coronado and Matt Standlee earned second team and honorable mention, respectively.
    Girard senior Cody Grilz and freshman Drew Davied made second team and honorable mention, respectively.
    Southeast senior Josh Thompson represented the Lancers on honorable mention.
    Girls, first team: Hadyn Herlocker, Girard (U); Nina Spence, Baxter Springs (U); Abby Shelton, Galena; Ryleigh McCartney, Frontenac; Bailey Flora, Frontenac.
    Girls, second team: Aleigh Grimes, Baxter Springs; Mariah Klenke, Colgan; Olivia Murdock, Columbus; Haley Wilson, Frontenac; Amy Martin, Southeast.
    Girls, honorable mention: Caitlin Roberts, Baxter Springs; Nichole Kolarik, Colgan; Marissa Thompson, Columbus; Libby Warrick, Frontenac; Brittany Allen, Galena; Hope McLeod, Girard; MacKenzie Dunbar, Riverton; Tessa Robin, Southeast.
    Boys, first team: Dyson Dechant, Colgan; Deven Newman, Galena; Devin Alters, Girard; Blake Barto, Frontenac; Landon North, Riverton.
    Boys, second team: Dylan Weaver, Riverton; Aaron Bigando, Columbus; Greyson Spriggs, Riverton; Avery Coronado, Frontenac; Jordan Morgan, Columbus; Cody Grilz, Girard.
    Boys, honorable mention: Nick Abernathy, Baxter Springs; V.J. Piccini, Colgan; Nate Bole, Columbus; Matt Standlee, Frontenac; Ray Slimp, Galena; Drew Davied, Girard; Grant North, Riverton; Josh Thompson, Southeast.

    Comments are currently unavailable on this article

      Events Calendar