The Morning Sun

Each year, the Pittsburg Area Chamber of Commerce honors some of the businesses and individuals who make outstanding contributions to local communities.

Both the Small Business of the Year and the Educator of the Year awards are based on nominations made by the public, and nomination forms are available on the chamber’s Web site at under the news and events tab.

The postmark deadline for nominations for the Small Business of the Year is today, and criteria include that the business should be located in Crawford County, have been in business at least four years, employ 50 or fewer full-time equivalent employees and be a member in good standing of the chamber for the past two years.

Area teachers also are eligible to be named the "Educator of the Year," which recognizes excellence in the teaching profession within Crawford County.

The goal of the award is to recognize teachers with the ability to inspire students of all backgrounds and abilities to reach their full potential, and nominees must be certified classroom teachers who instruct students in any grade level from kindergarten to 12 in Crawford County.

Teacher of the Year nominations must be postmarked no later than April 7.

Award recipients for both will be announced at the 2014 Annual banquet on May 22.