At the invitation of Gov. Sam Brownback, Dakota Robarts, Northeast High School, Arma, was selected to attend the 31st annual Governor’s Scholars Awards Program May 4 in Topeka.

The recognition ceremony honors the top academic 1 percent of Kansas high school seniors. Scholars are selected from accredited public and private schools in the state.

"These high school seniors have shown dedication in their studies and a commitment to learning," the governor said. "They’ve earned this honor, and I want to congratulate them on this achievement. We should also recognize their families, teachers and mentors for helping these outstanding students achieve their academic goals."

This program is coordinated for the governor by the Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force, which was formed 31 years ago to strengthen public confidence in education. It is funded by donations from private sector businesses in Kansas.

Organizations that are members of the Task Force are the American Association of University Women, Kansas State Board of Education, Kansas Association of School Boards, Kansas Congress of Parents and Teachers, Kansas State Department of Education, Kansas-National Education Association, Kansas School Public Relations Association, Kansas State High School Activities Association, Kansas League of Women Voters and United School Administrators of Kansas.