PITTSBURG — The Pittsburg State University track team found success in multiple events at the ninth annual David Suenram Gorilla Classic Saturday afternoon at Carnie Smith Stadium.

Several Gorillas were able to provisionally qualify for the national championships later this spring in field events, led by Brett Thompson and Allyn Murray in the men’s and women’s javelin. Thompson threw 215-feet, 3-inches to qualify, and Murray had a toss of 133-02 to meet the qualifying mark. The wind played a major factor in the jumping and track events, as most of the times and leaps on the day were wind aided, negating the ability to qualify for nationals. However, the PSU women’s 4x100 relay team of Imani Hutchinson, Alyssa Hammons, Kelsey Lewis, and Courtney Nelson qualified in a time of 45.83 seconds.

In the throwing events is where Pitt State found some early success.

Brianna Cooks won the women’s hammer throw with a toss of 167-06, and her teammates Darien Stancell and Jena Black took third and fourth in the event.

In the javelin, Brett Thompson won with a throw of 215-03, good enough to provisionally qualify for nationals, and his teammate Creighton Sanders finished second.

Levi Wyrick qualified provisionally for nationals in two disciplines Saturday afternoon. He had a toss of 178-02 in the hammer throw and a toss of 165-07 in the discus to meet the qualifying mark.

Allyn Murray won the women’s javelin and provisionally qualified with a heave of 133-02. In the shot put, Jasmine Smith won it with a toss of 48-04. Black and Cooks finished second and fourth respectively. All three women had provisional qualifying throws.

Ian Duncan finished second in the men’s high jump, clearing 6-06 3/4, and Emilee Iverson won the women’s iteration of the event in a PQ leap of 5-9 1/4.

Megan Wickersham provisionally qualified in the women’s pole vault with a clearance at 12-1/4. Emilyn Dearman won the women’s long jump with a leap of 20-01 3/4, and Amira Jenkins won the women’s triple jump by going 39-06 1/2.

On the track, the Pitt State women went second, third, fourth, and fifth in the 1500-meter run, with Carlin Greene, Ashton Henson, Sarah Jewett, and Piper Misse finishing in that respective order.

Dominick Fonseca won the men’s 1500 with a time of 4:03.99. Teammate Ty Dickerson finished second in 4:05.60, and Nicholas Ray and Colby Kromminga finished fourth and fifth.

Courtney Nelson and Dearman went first and second in the 100 hurdles, with Nelson winning in a time of 13.40 seconds. Justice Burks won the men’s 110 hurdles in a time of 13.97 seconds.

Imani Hutchinson and Kelsey Lewis finished first and second in the 100-meter and 200-meter dashes, with Hutchinson taking the win in the 100 in 11.58 seconds and Lewis taking the title in the 200 in 23.86 seconds.

Alexander Burson won the men’s 800 in a time of 4:55.71. Teammate Noah Gfeller finished third in a time of 1:56.44.

Jared Page won the 400 hurdles in a time of 53.53 seconds, and Dylan Williams hit a provisional qualifying time in the 200, finishing third in a time of 21.39 seconds.

Christina Metzger won the women’s 5000 with a time of 18:28.51, with teammate Katren Rienbolt finishing second. Matthew Wilson won the men’s 5000, finishing in a time of 15:39.88.

To close the meet, the PSU women’s 4x400 team of Alyssa Hammons, Dearman, Nelson, and Rhema Taylor set a new meet record in a time of 3:45.00.