PITTSBURG — For the first time in program history, the Pittsburg State men’s track & field team won the national championship on Saturday inside the Robert W. Plaster Center.

The Gorillas dethroned the two-time defending champions Tiffon University 49-48 to claim the crown.

“We were blessed to host the event and blessed to win it,” PSU Head Coach Russ Jewett said. “It took a team effort to come up with the win. The guys who scored the big points obviously helped, but everyone on the team has a gift and played their part. This community and the PSU administration is great and gives us all the support we need.”

Bo Farrow the led the way for the Gorilla men, as he won the shot put with a distance of 62 feet and 2.5 inches.

Other standout performers for the PSU men included Tanner McNutt, who placed third in the heptathlon (5,536) and Ian Duncan, who took third-place in the high jump, clearing 7-0.25.

Justice Burks placed third in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 7.85 seconds, while his teammate NaRon Rollins finished in third in the 200, with a time of 21.17, and fifth in the 60-meters, closing in at 6.73.

On the women’s side, West Texas A&M University was crowned the NCAA DII champions.

The Gorilla women finished in the top five for the third consecutive year and were paced by Emilee Iverson, who took second in the high jump with a heigth of 5-9.75, and Courtney Nelson, who was runner-up in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.33.