It took time, personal reflection and discussions with her family, but Dawn McNay will vie to remain on the USD 250 Board of Education.

It took time, personal reflection and discussions with her family, but Dawn McNay will vie to remain on the USD 250 Board of Education.
McNay was one of four local residents who filed for one of the three at large four-year positions on the board. The election will take place April 7.
McNay, who is in her 12th year on the board, said she believes her experience will serve as an asset to the school district as it faces major financial decisions and the transition to a new superintendent.
"As I examine the overall tenure of the board, and the challenges ahead, I feel that my experience will be of benefit," she said. "The next few years will test our creativity and commitment. With a new superintendent, (Destry Brown), and board members, the board of education will be stronger with members of varying degrees of experience. It is also important to me that the voters have a robust poll of candidates for this election."
Also running for four-year terms are current board members Albert Mendez and John Clark. Challenger Joan Fields also will vie for a seat.
Todd Biggs and Howard W. Smith filed for the lone two-year term, the remainder of former board member Mark Cole's term. Cole resigned his seat in August because of residency conflicts. The winner of that contest will be up for re-election in 2011.
Biggs originally filed for a four-year term, but said he changed his designation to avoid any candidate from running unopposed. Before Tuesday, Smith was the only person to file for the two-year position. Smith said there was “no particular reason” he filed for the two-year term. Biggs, however, believed different.
“It seemed calculated on his part, so I decided to change my designation from the four-year to the two-year and take him head on,” Biggs said.
Both Biggs and Smith said they, if elected, plan to run for re-election after the two-year term expires.
This will not be the first time Biggs and Fields attempted to get on the BOE. They both applied in the fall to fill the open seat left vacant when Cole resigned. That seat, however, went to Clark.
Smith, assistant to the president at Pittsburg State University and a former USD 250 interim superintendent, recently finished leading a committee that helped choose the school district's next superintendent.
Current board member Mike Joy did not file for re-election.

Frontenac USD 249
Two of three incumbents on the Frontenac USD 249 Board of Education filed for re-election.
Board President Lee Brunetti and LaDonna Pyle filed to remain on the board.
Also in the race will be Scott Holland, Adam Lusker Sr. and Ryan Varsolona.
Board member Sal Marquez did not file for re-election.

Girard USD 248
Three USD 248 seats are up for grabs in April and each incumbent has filed for re-election.
In Position 4, incumbent Jim Mengarelli will be challenged by Marilyn K. VonSoosten.
Tony R. Stonerock will run unopposed for his Position 5 seat.
The race for Position 6 will pit incumbent Patty Shanholtzer against challenger Aaron D. Callaway.

Southeast USD 247
None of the three incumbents whose USD 247 board seats are up for grabs filed for re-election.
The Position 4 seat, currently held by Denise Grasso, will be sought by Joe Ulery, David Stricklin and Sundown N. Jacobs.
Jerry Alexander was the only person to file for the Position 5 seat, which is now held by Alan Rogers.
LaDonna Hartman also will unopposed for Troy Smith's Position 6 seat.

Northeast USD 246
Three USD 246 seats will be contended for in April, but only two will have candidates on the ballot.
No one filed for USD 246's Position 6 seat, including incumbent Cindy Bedene. The next occupant of that seat will be chosen by write-in votes.
The race for  Position 4 will be between incumbent Travis Allen and challenger Bonnie L. Hines.
Incumbent Kathryn Richard will run unopposed for her Position 5 seat.