The Kansas Sports Hall of Fame has announced the members of the 50th Anniversary Class of 2011, who will be enshrined in ceremonies Oct. 2 at the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame in the Wichita Boathouse.

The Kansas Sports Hall of Fame has announced the members of the 50th Anniversary Class of 2011, who will be enshrined in ceremonies Oct. 2 at the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame in the Wichita Boathouse.

The KSHOF Class of 2011 includes Marysville’s KSU All-American basketball player Kendra Wecker, K-State All-America linebacker Mark Simoneau of Smith Center, KU All-American basketball player Raef LaFrentz, former Emporia State track star John Camien, University of Kansas athletic director Bob Frederick, University of Kansas basketball coach Dick Harp, Wichita State All-American baseball pitcher Don Heinkel, Wichita State football coach Willie Jeffries and Pittsburg State football All-American Ronnie West. Frederick and Harp will be inducted posthumously.

The nine-person class raises the total of inductees to 210 in the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame.

In 1991, West was the first receiver to win the Harlon Hill Trophy, signifying him as the best player in the country in NCAA Division II. He led Division II in punt return average as a junior in 1990 and totaled 2,070 all-purpose yards and 18 TDs. As a senior, he caught 50 passes for 1,044 yards and 12 TDs and helped lead Pittsburg State to the national championship with a 23-6 victory over Jacksonville, Ala. A two-time NCAA Division II first-team All-American and MIAA Player of the Year, West played two seasons in the NFL with the Minnesota Vikings.

Wecker, a native of Marysville, was a three-time first-team All-Big 12 Conference selection at K-State, Big 12 Player of the Year and consensus first-team All-American in 2005. She played for the Wildcats from 2002-05 and ranks No. 1 in points scored (2,333) and rebounds (1,087). Wecker averaged 18.2 points and 8.5 rebounds a game for her career and her No. 53 was retired by K-State in 2005.

A three-time consensus first-team All-State selection at Marysville High School, Wecker scored 2,305 points and grabbed 1,051 rebounds, becoming the first Kansas female prep player to accomplish the 2,000/1,000 feat.

In 2001, she was named “Miss Kansas Basketball” by the KBCA and the Kansas Player of the Year by the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame. In track and field, she set the national high school record in javelin and was a three-time state champion. She was also a first-team All-State volleyball player and won the national Punt, Pass and Kick competition as a middle school student.

Simoneau, a consensus first team All-State football star out of Smith Center, was one of the best linebackers ever to play at Kansas State. He played for the Wildcats from 1996-99 and currently ranks No. 3 all-time in tackles (400). He played in four bowl games for K-State, leading the team in tackles as a junior and senior. In 1999, Simoneau was named first-team All-American, the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year and was the runner-up for the Butkus Award. He was also named the Big 12 Defensive Freshman of the Year in 1996.

Simoneau played 10 seasons in the NFL with Atlanta, Philadelphia and New Orleans and had 370 tackles. He was also the Class 3A state shot put champion at Smith Center in 1995 with a mark of over 60 feet.

LaFrentz was a two-time consensus first team All-American at Kansas, Big 12 Player of the Year, and three-time all-conference player. The Iowa native played for the Jayhawks from 1994-98 and still ranks No. 3 all-time in scoring (2,066 points) and second in rebounds (1,186), one behind all-time leader Danny Manning. He had his jersey retired by KU in 2003.

LaFrentz, the third player picked in the 1998 NBA draft, played 11 seasons in the NBA with the Denver Nuggets, Dallas Mavericks, Boston Celtics and Portland Trailblazers.

Camien was a track and cross country standout at Emporia State while competing from 1961-65. In cross country, he was a two-time NAIA national champion and All-America selection and three-time conference winner. In indoor track, he won eight conference championships alone. During outdoor competition, Camien won eight conference crowns and five NAIA national championships, including the 1,500-meters four straight years. He is a member of the NAIA Hall of Fame and the Helms Foundation Hall of Fame.

Frederick was the athletic director at Kansas from 1987-2001 and oversaw 32 conference championships won by the Jayhawks, as well as producing 41 Academic All-Americans. He served on the NCAA basketball tournament’s selection committee from 1992-96 and was the chairman in 1995 and ’96. Frederick played at KU in 1960-61 and was a former high school coach.

Harp was the head basketball coach at Kansas from 1956-64 and posted a 121-82 record. His 1957 team, led by sophomore All-American Wilt Chamberlain finished second to North Carolina, losing in triple overtime in the national championship game. The1960 Jayhawks won Big 8 Conference title but lost to Cincinnati in the Midwest Regional. Harp was an assistant coach under Phog Allen from 1948-56 and a starting guard on KU’s 1940 team that finished second in the NCAA Tournament. He later served as an assistant coach under Dean Smith at North Carolina from 1986-89.

Heinkel was one of the greatest pitchers in Wichita State’s rich baseball history, setting an NCAA record with 51 victories during his career from 1979-82. He was named All-Missouri Valley Conference three times and was a first-team All-America selection in 1982 when he helped the Shockers to their first appearance in the College World Series with a 16-5 record. He set WSU school records for games started, complete games, innings pitched and earned run average. He pitched in the major leagues with Detroit and St. Louis and just last year, became the fourth WSU player inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Jeffries was named the first African-American head football coach at the NCAA Division I level at Wichita State in 1979 and is the only coach ever to coach against both Eddie Robinson of Grambling and Bear Bryant of Alabama. He coached at Wichita State, Howard and South Carolina State, posting a record of 179-132-6 and is also a member of the South Carolina Sports Hall of Fame. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2010 and coached five seasons at WSU (1979-83).