Annual Walnut and St. Patrick High School reunion was held June 6 at the Walnut Ruritan Hall with 141 alumni, their spouses and guests attending.

Annual Walnut and St. Patrick High School reunion was held June 6 at the Walnut Ruritan Hall with 141 alumni, their spouses and guests attending.
Dinner was catered by Chicken Annie’s of Girard. The Rev. Wayne Shireman gave the invocation before the dinner. He read the names of those who had died since the 2008 reunion: Dorothy Berry Hunter Beck and Margaret Schoenhofer Stevens, class of 1932; Charles Burns, class of 1933; Phyllis Saul Nelson and Glen Lawrence, class of 1944; Raymond Duling and Margaret Elmer Higgins, class of 1947; Betty Schreuer O’Hara, Pat Mudd Mullinix and Robert Houdashelt, class of 1949; Rose Naomi Clagg Carpenter, class of 1950; Leroy Van Leeuwen, class of 1951; and Lewis Bradshaw, class of 1953.
Names added to this list by those attending were Patsy Bammann Grabner, class of 1949, and Louis French, class of 1950.
Vera  Wheeler conducted the election for 2010 alumni officers. Re-elected for another term were Evelyn Sevart, president; Don Jones, vice president; Claire Weston, secretary; and Marilyn Colegrove, treasurer. Nominating committee for 2010 consisted of Loretta Hofer and Helen George.
Students receiving scholarships for the 2009-2010 school year are Kinsey Wellington, granddaughter of Betty Jones Wellington; Trenton Joseph Kichler, grandson of Marilyn Jacquinot Colegrove; Matthew Kelly Johnston, grandson of Carolyn Boaz Lero; Katlyn Rae Coester, granddaughter of Don and Betty Ann Baugh Coester; and Lynn “Quint” Currier Myer V, grandson of Loretta Smith Hofer.
Thanks were extended to those who helped during the year and before the reunion. These were Marilyn and Merlin Colegrove, Claire Weston, Don and Mary Ann Jones, Vera and Bill Wheeler, Lane O’Toole, Dorothy Ricketts, Shorty Norris, Marla Kichler, Megan and Justin and friend, Marjorie Ralph and Marion Lowe.
A corsage was presented to the oldest alumni present, Ethel Lucille Puckett Tredway, Chanute, class of 1937. She has received this corsage for three years.
Honored classes were as follows: 70-year class of 1939, represented by Winifred Connor Walsh, Girard, Ken and Helen Marnell Norris, St. Paul, and Morgan Warzel, Bartlesville, Okla.; 65-year class of 1944, represented by Gene and Gertrude Crow, Imperial, Mo., and Marion Mitchell Lowe, Girard; 60-year class of 1949, represented by Frank and Dorothy Devine, Meade, Betty Morris Eytcheson, Independence, Fred Kennedy, San Antonio, Texas, Irene Koopman, Ames, Iowa, and Evelyn Shively Sevart, Greenbush; 55-year class of 1954, represented by Florence O’Brien Blaes, Cherryvale, Jack Call, Turpin, Okla., Mary Jean Van Leeuwen Seidl, Chanute, and Don and Helen Bradshaw George, Walnut; 50-year  class of 1959, represented by Carolyn Boaz Lero, Climax, Mo., Lois Greve Corn, Lenexa, Don and Mary Lou Fox Murray, Pittsburg, Wendelin and Kay Westhoff Schmidt, Wichita, Ert and Ginger Westhoff Sowers, Eden, S.C., Mary Jo O’Bryan Von Wellenghem, and Wayne and Marie McDaniel Linder, Wellsville; and the 45-year class of 1964, Karen Dent O’Brien, Altamont, Wayne Shively, Erie, and Jin and Sandy Lowe, Louisburg.
Alumni attending from other classes were as follows: Lloyd and Josephine Guy, Walnut, class of 1940; Bernadine Titmus Shively, Girard, and Wilber and Eula Holland, Lenexa, class of 1941; Floyd McDermed, Chanute, Woodrow and Pat Holland, Erie, class of 1943; Tom and Claire Kennedy Weston, Jack and Marilyn ZurBuchen Shireman, Girard, Truman and Ruth Shireman Hughes, Farlington, Jack and Pearl Shively Modica, Walnut, Gene Little, Kirbyville, Mo., and Mildred “Cork” Norris Birzer, Ellinwood, class of 1946; Wayne and Gloria Beech,  Chanute, Bob and Sara Shively, Caney, class of 1947; George and Dorothy Clark Quier, Joplin, Loyola Little Puckett, Pittsburg, Paul Beech, Iola, Bob and Sandy Herod, Tulsa, Okla., and Wayne Shireman, Ames, Iowa, class of 1948; Charles “Chuck” and Mary Ann Norris, Austin, Texas, Raymond “Slim” Norris, Del City, Okla.; Harold “Shorty” Norris, Girard, Robert Leritz, Stockton, Mo., Sam and Dorothy Ricketts, Erie, Florence Crapson French, Lexington, Mo., and Jerry and Dorothy Little Van Leeuwen, Walnut, class of 1950.
Lois McDermed Little, Kirbyville, Mo., Luella Puckett Kennedy, San Antonio, Texas, Joe and Betty Jones Wellington, Edmond, Okla., Norman and Norma Jean Baugh McMurray, Sedgewick, and Bill Wheeler, Walnut, class of 1951; Lee Roy and Nancy Shively Church, Kimberling City, Mo., and Jack and Rita Gahagan, Benton, class of 1952; Pat Purdon Taulbert, Kansas City, Mo., Loretta Smith Hofer, Walnut, Dean and Hazel Wintjen Hand, Wichita, Bud and Loretta Fox Parkinson, Frontenac, Don and Betty Ann Baugh Coester, Chanute, and Vera Kennedy Wheeler, Walnut, class of 1953; Betty Little Call, Turpin, Okla., Merlin and Marilyn Jacquinot Colegrove, Walnut, and Don and Mary Ann Jones, Girard, class of 1955; Peggy Diskin Beech, Iola, Joan Hankemeyer Leritz, Stockton, Mo., J. Ray Little, Walnut, Bob and Edna Hallacy, Girard, Marjorie O’Brien Ralph, Farlington, Arnie and Nancy Eggen Westhoff Ward, St. Paul, Barbara Fox Vitt, Tulsa, Okla., and Bill and Irene Boaz, Chanute, class of 1956.
Kenneth Schoenhofer, Parsons, and Jolene Hammerbacher Little, Walnut, class of 1957; Jeanette Doub Harris, Erie, Bernie and Beverly O’Brien, Hepler, Joe “Smokey” Smith, Clearwater, Fla., Charles and Mildred Eggen Ludlum, Erie, and Dwight Crapson, Walnut, class of 1958; Leonard “Gabby” Gahagan, Chanute, class of 1960; Helen Hill Schetter, Walnut, and Frances Gahagan Wills, Oklahoma City, class of 1962; Frances Fox Easton, Sabetha, Mary Greve, Overland Park, and Pat Smith, Stark, class of 1963; and Hanie Greve Ward, Wichita, Judy Greve Smith, Stark, and Sharon Fox Wineinger, Florida, class of 1965.
Guests included Lois Slater and Connie Slater, Chanute, Mary Jean Zandler, Walnut, Kenneth Gorseline, Limas, Mo., Kate Wendt, Walnut, Elmer Jr. and Irene Bammann, Walnut, Bill and Joan Augustine, Chanute, and Bill Gahagan.
The next reunion will be held June 5, 2010.